Get To Know Of 7 Stages Of Dementia

The World Health Organization defines dementia as a chronic or progressive syndrome that affects cognitive function, including memory, thinking, orientation, comprehension, calculation, language, and judgement. Dementia is a term used to describe a decline in cognitive function, including memory, thinking, language, judgment, and behaviour. It is a syndrome, which means it is a group of symptoms that occur together, rather than a single condition. Dementia can be caused by a variety of factors, including brain damage due to a disease (such as Alzheimer's disease), injury, or stroke. It can also be a result of environmental factors, such as exposure to toxins or chronic stress. The progression of dementia varies greatly among individuals, with some experiencing a rapid decline in cognitive function and others experiencing a more gradual decline over time.

Here is a description of the 7 stages of dementia:

  • Stage 1: There are no signs or symptoms of dementia in this stage. Individuals in this stage are mentally healthy and function normally.
  • Stage 2: Also known as very mild cognitive decline, individuals in this stage may experience normal forgetfulness which is often attributed to aging.
  • Stage 3: Mild cognitive decline is the last stage in the category of no dementia. This stage is also known as mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and is characterized by increased forgetfulness, decreased performance at work, speech difficulty, and difficulty focusing on everyday tasks.
  • Stage 4: Early-stage dementia, also known as moderate cognitive decline, lasts for an average of 2 years and is characterized by difficulties with concentration, remembering recent events, managing finances, and socializing.
  • Stages 5: Moderately severe cognitive decline requires assistance with daily living activities. Confusion and forgetfulness will be more prominent, and short-term memory will primarily be lost.
  • Stage 6: Severe cognitive decline, or middle dementia, is characterized by difficulty remembering close loved ones, limited or vague memories of recent events, and severe communication difficulties, along with delusions, compulsions, anxiety, and agitation.
  • Stage 7: Stage 7 is the final stage of dementia, lasting for an average of 2.5 years. Individuals in this stage have very severe cognitive decline, cannot speak or communicate, and require assistance with most activities, including walking. Caregivers in this stage focus on providing comfort and improving quality of life.

Dementia can have a profound impact on the lives of individuals with the condition, as well as their families and caregivers. It can lead to difficulty with daily activities, such as cooking, dressing, and bathing, and may also cause mood changes, such as depression and anxiety. It is important for individuals with dementia to receive early diagnosis and treatment, as well as on-going support from loved ones, healthcare providers, and community resources.

Dr. Manish Gupta
Associate Director
Department of Neurology
Book an Appointment